THE DECLINE OF THE BRITISH MOTOR MANUFACTURING INDUSTRY BETWEEN 1970 AND 1990

4 replies [Last post]
EOO

Hello Everyone,

I am a student at The University of Wales, currently researching
into the Decline of The British Motor Manufacturing Industry and its impact on
the British Work Force between 1970 and 1990. Companies that went into
decline include British Leyland, BMC, Nuffield, Austin, Rootes,etc...

So far I have read several books on the topic but it would be of great help, if
I could hear from people who are familiar with the industry during that period.

It will be most helpful if anyone who is conversant with it can spare the time
to kindly answer a brief questionnaire on the topic and/or forward it to AS
MANY PEOPLE (WHO MAY BE AWARE
OF THE TOPIC)
 AS POSSIBLE.

Please find below, the topic and link to the online survey for the
research. 

The Topic: The impact of the Decline of the British Motor Manufacturing
Industry on Labour Employment Market between 1970 an 1990.

The Linkhttp://www.stellarsurvey.com/s.aspx?u=2A76C7E5-9C51-43C8-9FC9-2A2387F251D6&

Please if anyone has information that may be of use to this research, please
kindly reply to this post.

Thanks!

Coventry Climax

Apologies if I'm stating the obvious, but by 1970 the first four companies you mention were actually one and the same.

Nuffield merged with Austin in the early 50s to become BMC, which by the late 60s had merged with Leyland to become British Leyland. By 1990 the name had changed once more (to Austin-Rover), but it was still essentially the same company.

Chris Martin
Chris Martin's picture

Coventry Climax wrote:

Apologies if I'm stating the obvious, but by 1970 the first four companies you mention were actually one and the same.

Nuffield merged with Austin in the early 50s to become BMC, which by the late 60s had merged with Leyland to become British Leyland. By 1990 the name had changed once more (to Austin-Rover), but it was still essentially the same company.