Jags convene at Prescott

| 1 Nov 2010

More than 160 classics poured through the Prescott gates for the Jaguar Drivers' Club E Type Day on 6 June.

Numbers were well up on last year, with a guest appearance from the Porsche 914 Register at lunchtime. The event was shared with the Classic S Type Register, which brought five Mark Xs, including chairman Len Hand's rare '63 3.8 manual-overdrive example.

E-type prizes were handed out by veteran racer and JDC founder Albert Powell, as well as legendary former test-driver Norman Dewis. All of the cars were roadsters, with Tony Johnson's S1 4.2 taking the Intermediate Class and Graham Blake winning the Premier prize with his lovely red 3.8. Kevin O'Sullivan's S3 came second, and also won the Endeavour Prize for its three-year restoration work.

Car of the Day went to Michael Birtwistle and son Matt, whose S3 won the Royal Brierley Trophy.