Ayres secures Challenge title

| 27 Oct 2011

The 2011 Morgan Challenge went right down to the wire, with the championship winner decided at the last round of the series, held at Snetterton earlier this month.

The battle for overall glory was between Tim Ayres, driving a standard-production 'Class C' 3.9-litre Plus 8 (top), and Russell Paterson aboard his 'Class A' modified 4.6-litre example. By winning his class at the last round, however, Ayres (below) won the championship by just two points.

The victory is particularly impressive bearing in mind that 2011 was only Ayres' second year contesting the Challenge, having previously been successful in speed events driving the same car. The friendly series is open to all four-wheeled Morgans and the championship is divided into several classes encompassing both standard and modified cars to encourage a broad a spectrum of entries and experience.For further details, contact series co-ordinator Katy Thompson: katy-theabbey@hotmail.com