Historic motor sport winners announced

| 1 Feb 2012

More than 200 people including Sir Stirling Moss attended the Motor Racing Legends Awards at which a wide range of trophies were handed out to historic hotshoes.

The awards dinner took place at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall mall on Wednesday (25 January) and the overall winners of the showpiece Stirling Moss Trophy were Martin Stretton and Jon Minshaw in the Lister-Jaguar (main image).

Unlike some race series trophies, these were awarded not just on points or crossing the finishing line first, but also on a range of criteria such as presentation and racing in the right spirit.

Organisers pledged that none of the winners would be tipped off in advance so the surprise on their faces was genuine.

These were the awards:

2011 Motor Racing Legends Pre-War Sports Car SeriesVintage Class 1 (up to 3000cc): Charles Gillett, Tom Walker and Patrick Blakeney-Edwards – Frazer Nash Super SportsVintage Class 2 (over 3000cc): Clive Morley, Stuart Morley and Duncan Wiltshire – Bentley 3/4½  Post-Vintage Class 1 (up to 2000cc):  David Ozanne – Aston Martin 2 Litre Speed ModelPost-Vintage Class 2 (over 2000cc): Alex Ames – Alta Sport Winner of the 2011 Pre-War Sports Car Trophy: Alex Ames2011 JD Classics ChallengeChris Conoley and Allen Tice – BMW CSL Batmobile

2011 Stirling Moss TrophyClass 1 (Drum-braked up to 2000cc): Chris and Ollie Phillips – Lola Mk 1Class 2 (Drum-braked over 2000cc): Adam, Joe and Rachel Singer – Kurtis 500SClass 3 (Disc-braked up to 1100cc): Jaques Naveau and David Axisa – Lotus 11Class 4 (Disc-braked up to 1500cc): Phil Champion in his Lotus 11 – with Martin Stretton, Sam Stretton and Chris Chilcott Class 5 (Disc-braked up to 2000cc): Ewan McIntyre in his Lotus 15Class 6 (Disc-braked over 2000cc): Jon Minshaw and Martin Stretton – Lister Jaguar (main image)Overall winners: Jon Minshaw and Martin Stretton – Lister Jaguar

2011 Royal Automobile Club Woodcote TrophyClass 1 (Drum-braked up to 1500cc): Richard Hodson – Lotus VI Class 2 (Drum-braked up to 2000cc):    Stephen Bond – Lister BristolClass 3 (Drum-braked up to 3000cc): Martin Melling, Rick Hall and Rob Hall – Aston Martin DB3Class 3a (Disc-braked up to 3000cc): Martyn Corfield and Jeremy Welch – Austin-Healey 100Class 4 (Drum-braked over 3000cc): Barry Wood, Tony Wood and Barry Cannell – RGS AtalantaClass 4a (Disc-braked over 3000cc): Carlos Monteverde and Gary Pearson – Jaguar D-typeOverall winners: Barry Wood, Tony Wood and Barry Cannell – RGS Atalanta (above)

2011 Father & Son Trophy2011 winners: Gabriel and Dion Kremer (above)

2011 Motor Racing Legends TrophyMike Thorne