Talbot wins Alpine Trial 80 years after original victory

| 11 Jun 2014

History repeated itself on the freshly revived Alpine Trial when a Talbot 105 motored to victory, 80 years after a Talbot won the original rally.

Fittingly, while Gareth Burnett and Jeremy Haylock won the three-day Endurance Rally Association event as the only team to keep a clean sheet, John Ruston and Michael Birch came home in seventh in the very car that took the spoils on the 1934 event.  

Second place went to the 1937 Bentley Derby of Paul Carter and Robert Ellis while seasoned rally participants Bill Cleyndert and Matthew Abrey claimed third place in the 1929 Ford Model A Speedster.

The rally was based around the Imperial Palace hotel on the shores of Lake Annency and covered more than 600 miles including various time trials and medal sections,

Special trophies included Ludovic Bois and Julia Colman collecting the Spirit of the Rally Award for their of driving a 1938 Peugeot 402 Légère saloon, while the Against All Odds Award went to Peter Little and Louise Cartledge for nursing a 1926 Bentley with no clutch and James and Dawn Gately from America won the Concours for their 1937 Cadillac 75 series.

Click here for full results.