European Car of the Year to be celebrated in Essex

| 12 Mar 2014

The largest-ever gathering of European Car of the Year winners in the UK has been unveiled as the centrepiece of the Warren Classic Car Show’s spring celebration of the famous award, taking place on 10 May at The Warren Golf & Country Club in Essex.

The first European Car of the Year gong was bestowed on the Rover 2000 in 1964, with 49 winners – some of them seeming unlikely – following thereafter. The club is aiming to gather examples of all 50 winners for the first display of its type in the UK, and has issued a call for anyone with a suitable car to get in touch.

1964 Rover 2000

Organiser Nic Waller said: “We already have some interest from owners in the UK and we are sure that there are great examples of all 50 past winners somewhere in the country. We would love these owners to get involved with our quest to get all 50 cars in one place for a fantastic celebration. Many of the more recent winners are cars that you see most days but to find good examples of them all is a challenge, yet one that we are looking forward to meeting!”

In addition to the Rover 2000, the display will include the rotary-engined NSU Ro80, which won in 1968, and the Robert Opron-styled Citroën GS, which took the accolade in 1971. The modern classic contingent is well represented by the Lancia Delta (1980), Opel Kadett (1985) and Volkswagen Golf Mk2 (1992). The most recent winner – announced on 3 March at the Geneva Motor Show – is the Peugeot 308.

1971 Citroen GS

If you have a previous European Car of the Year winner in your garage you can join in the display by emailing

Full list of winners1964 Rover 20001965 Austin 18001966 Renault 161967 Fiat 1241968 NSU Ro801969 Peugeot 5041970 Fiat 1281971 Citroën GS1972 Fiat 1271973 Audi 801974 Mercedes 450S1975 Citroën CX1976 Simca 1307-13081977 Rover 35001978 Porsche 9281979 Simca-Chrysler Horizon1980 Lancia Delta1981 Ford Escort Mk31982 Renault 91983 Audi 1001984 Fiat Uno1985 Opel Kadett1986 Ford Scorpio1987 Opel Omega1988 Peugeot 4051989 Fiat Tipo1990 Citroën XM1991 Renault Clio1992 Volkswagen Golf1993 Nissan Micra1994 Ford Mondeo1995 Fiat Punto1996 Fiat Bravo1997 Renault Megane Scenic1998 Alfa Romeo 1561999 Ford Focus2000 Toyota Yaris2001 Alfa Romeo 1472002 Peugeot 3072003 Renault Megane2004 Fiat Panda2005 Toyota Prius2006 Renault Clio2007 Ford S-Max2008 Fiat 5002009 Opel Insignia2010 Volkswagen Polo2011 Nissan Leaf2012 Chevrolet Volt2013 Volkswagen Golf2014 Peugeot 308