Belgians make best of home advantage on Poppy Rally

| 25 Mar 2013

More than 60 classics competed in the third Poppy Regularity Rally, which was won by locals Eddy D’Hoe and Bjorn Van Overschelde in Ypres, Belgium, on 17 March.

The pair drove their 1968 MGB GT V8 to victory ahead of Peter Horsburgh and Anthony Preston, who took their 1965 Mini Cooper ‘S’ to second, and the third-placed 1968 MGB of John Bateson and Iain Tullie.

Bad weather leading up to Saturday’s (16 March) kick-off couldn’t deter competitors from countries including the UK, Netherlands, Japan and Canada.  

Sunday’s leg brought with it public-road driving and eight test runs on courses including a kart circuit and a banked oval track.

Event director Jeremy Dickson said: “It was a great demonstration of classic rallying. Crews were very competitive and we didn’t know who the winners were until the last car crossed under the finish arch in the Grote Markt.”

The rally represented the first qualifying round of the 2013 HERO Cup.