More than 80 classics compete at Throckmorton

| 29 Oct 2012

Classics were tested to the limit as RAF Peshore’s airfield hosted the Historic Endurance Rallying Organisation’s annual Throckmorton Challenge on 13 October.

The meet is part of the Historic Rally Car Register’s Clubman Championship, a series of events that is held around the country and in which pre-’84 cars take part in a number of reliability trials.

In the Clubmans Event the first three places went to John Abel and John Dennett in a 1965 Sunbeam Tiger, Chris and Fred Winter in a 1966 Hillman Imp and Kevin Haselden and David Kirkham in a 1971 Mini Cooper ‘S’.

Meanwhile, the National B Event (HRCR Championship and HERO cup round) finished with Howard and Matt Warren in a 1965 Porsche 911 2.0litre SWB in first place. Second and third went to Andrew Mallagh and Paul Harley in a 1966 Porsche 911 2.0litre SWB and John Ruddock and David Taylor in a 1972 Ford Escort Mk1.

The Throckmorton Challenge is a qualifying round for drivers taking part in the HERO Cup (the club’s annual championship) as well as the HRCR Clubman Championship.

The event also served as a useful outing for competitors intending to tackle the organiser’s most famous event: Le Jog. It takes place from 1-4 December and more than 60 cars dash from Land’s End to John O’Groats.

Patrick Burke, HERO’s joint MD, said: “The event was a huge success and is one that we are going to continue building on in future years. We want to turn it into a showcase where not only can people come and compete, but where the public can visit and get a real feel for classic events.”