Silverstone Classic 2017

| 7 Aug 2017

This year's Silverstone Classic enjoyed its largest ever attendance, with more than 100,000 fans pouring into the circuit near Towcester to witness thrilling racing from 42 grids and a host of parades, including a brace marking 70 years of TVR and Ferrari. Punters also enjoyed a massive gathering of Jaguar XJ220s – including Don Law's XJ220-powered Ford Transit silhouette – plus the Silverstone debut of Kiwi ace Jim Richards and his fire-breathing BMW 6 Series. 

Photos: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Old stagers back in an evocative pair of Bastos-liveried saloons: Gianfranco Brancatelli in the 1989 Spa 24 Hours-winning Sierra Cosworth leads Steve Soper in the Rover 3500

The glorious yowl of Nigel Mansell’s 1992 F1 Championship-winning Williams FW14B once again echoed around the old complex during Nick Yellowly’s high-speed demonstrations

Gary Pearson, who also won at Donington, was once again the class of the Jaguar Classic Challenge in the E-type – one of many historic racers – that he prepares

‘Gentleman Jim’ Richards had never raced before at Silverstone, but said it was a great track with the same lap time as Bathurst – where he’s won the legendary 1000 seven times

Former Le Mans Series ace Jonathan Kennard made a brilliant debut, with pole and a second in the ex-Riccardo Patrese Arrows A3, in immaculate Warsteiner livery

Martin O’Connell’s bright orange Cheveron B19 was uncatchable in the FIA Masters Sports Cars race, here being followed by the De Tomaso of Paul Pochciol and James Hanson

Jason Minshaw disappeared into the distance in race one of the Super Touring Trophy, with the Volvo S40 in which Rickard Rydell won the 1998 British Touring Car Championship

The rain fortunately held off for most of Saturday, but made conditions tracherous for the International Trophy for Pre-’66 GT Cars – won by the AC Cobra of Olly Bryant (on right)

Lukas Halusa stormed away from the field during the Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy race on Sunday, but was demoted to fifth after a 45-second penalty for pitlane speeding

It was wet for both Group C races, on Saturday evening and (here) on Sunday afternoon. Kriton Lendoudis kicks up massive rooster tails from his Mercedes C11, en route to victory

Frederic Wakeman and Patrick Blakeney-Edwards won two years ago with their Frazer Nash Super Sports, but Gareth Burnett’s Talbot 105 had the edge this year – by 0.162 secs!

Lotus Cortinas once again dominated the race for Under 2 Litre Touring Cars: here’s Mark Sumpter drifting his distinctive pale blue car on the way to victory in the 50-minute race