Aussie Jaguar enthusiasts go all out on E-type 50th

| 12 Dec 2011

More than 50 E-types headed up the Jaguar Car Club of Victoria’s annual Concours d’Elegance for a final 50th hurrah for the model’s golden anniversary.The line-up was part of a 250-strong member turnout in the grounds of Melbourne’s Wesley College Australia on 27 November, despite the threat of wet weather.All models of E-type were represented, from early ‘external bonnet catch’ examples to Series 3 V12s, along with a part-assembled replica Lightweight (below) by show sponsor Glenn Olsens E-type Restorations.

The sports car enjoyed a dedicated class for the concours ,with Don Mazzone’s 1968 Series 2 E-type taking the honours, thanks to its 93.03 points score.

The E-types were complemented by the diversity of the other Jaguar models, from local collector Lindsay Fox’s 1939 SS100 (above) – which topped the SS90 & SS100 class with a 94.69 overall score – and 1959 XK150S to Derek Breeze’s 1949 MkIV and Graham de Jong’s 1967 340.There was a fine selection of later models, too, including Gavin Moore’s 1987 XJ-S and a 1998 XJR-W TWR owned by Robin Roissetter, while Lyn Belcher’s 2001 X-type scooped the Sir William Lyons Memorial Trophy given for the Best of Show.

Highlights on the pre-war front included a barn-find (above) Swallow Side Car (a forerunner of the Jaguar marque) while a standout among the non-Jaguars attending was a Wolseley Hornet (below).

Story and photos by kind courtesy of Heinz Schendzielorz.