Can-Am monsters set for Laguna Seca return

| 20 Mar 2017

A thunderous grid of fire-breathing Can-Am racers is slated to return to Laguna Seca for the first time since 1973. The 1966-1974 Can-Am group is one of nine grids at the Spring Classic, which takes place at the California circuit from 19-21 May. 

Founded by the Sports Car Club of America and the Canadian Automobile Sports Club in 1966, Can-Am quickly established itself as one of the most exciting and blisteringly quick forms of motorsport, as well as becoming the best paying race series in the world. The lure of breakneck speeds and a handsome purse proved an irresistible draw to Formula One World Champions John Surtees, Jody Scheckter, Jack Brabham, Graham Hill, Phil Hill, Denny Hulme, Jackie Stewart, plus Indianapolis 500 winners AJ Foyt, Mark Donohue and Parnelli Jones. 

The first Can-Am race at Laguna Seca took place on 16 October 1966 and featured racing greats Jim Hall, Phil Hill, Dan Gurney, Bruce McLaren, Chris Amon, Donohue, Hulme, Surtees, George Follmer and Sam Posey, with Hill taking the spoils for Chaparral. Bruce McLaren won at Laguna the following year, with Mark Donohue winning the last Can-Am race held at the circuit in 1973. 

“The Can-Am group is a popular one for fans and participants alike as they represent the true definition of win at any cost,” said CEO of the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca Gill Campbell. “These cars retain their characteristic look and certainly sounds and they are a welcome sight in their spiritual home.”

Click here for more information