Ford Escort takes Pomeroy Trophy honours

| 28 Feb 2012

It's the year's most diverse grid in one of the oldest unchanged formulae in motor sport and, according to the provisional results, has what we think is a first-time winner in 2012 – a Ford Escort.

Mike Smith's mount may be a heavily sorted rally car, but it still tops the standings in the VSCC's annual Pomeroy Trophy extravaganza, which took place at Silverstone on Saturday (25 February).

He led his class from C&SC contributor Paul Hardiman in his own multiple-Pom-entering Mk1 Escort.

Close behind Smith overall, and to be confirmed as winner of the Densham Trophy for pre-war cars, was Dudley Sterry in the 1939 Singer-engined HRS Sports.

In third was David Pryke in his 1935 Riley 12/4 TT Sprite rep.

VSCC PR boss Gillian Carr is in pole position to take the Pomeroy Edwardian Trophy in the 1928 Vauxhall A/D-type.

The results were a rare shut-out for the Frazer Nashes despite a record number on the entry list. Highest placed was Andrew Hall in fifth overall, driving Patrick Blakeney-Edwards' 1928 saloon 'Owlet'.

Biggest-engined entries – fun, but thanks to Laurence Pomeroy's formula, rarely competitive – were Andrew Howe-Davies' 9500cc 1911 SCAT racer (also the oldest car competing) and the 6.8-litre Pontiac Firebird 400 of Simon Ham.

But the best big-banger performance was Jon Payne who brought his 5.3-litre Mustang home 23rd. Photo: Peter McFadyen