Screaming Williams dominant at Brands Hatch Festival

| 29 May 2013

Michael Lyons’ Williams FW07 won both rounds of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship at Brands Hatch from 25-27 May.

Lyons started race one from pole, storming away from the opposition before a brief period under the safety car bunched up the pack.

Using the space of the full GP circuit to his advantage, Lyons soon worked his way free to take the win. Simon Fish, in his Ensign N180, and Ian Simmonds’ Tyrrell 012, took second and third respectively.

Lyons took command of race two as well, leaving Simmonds and Mike Wrigley engaged in a tussle for runner-up. After a race-long duel, it was Simmonds who triumphed to take second.

The full circuit was also used for the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship enduro, where the Lola T70 of Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield reigned supreme.  

Second place went to Steve Allen and David Gathercole’s Lola T212, while Manfredo Rossi di Montelera, in an Abarth Osella PA1, snatched third.

The touring car race for up to two-litre cars brought the smaller Indy circuit into action, with Desmond Smail’s Mini Cooper ‘S’ taking the win.

Leo Voyazides’ Ford Falcon Sprint won the over two-litre race, on the short track, but couldn’t stop Henry Mann and Anthony Reid on the Grand Prix circuit for race two.  

Their Ford Mustang topped a mighty field, with Niki Faulkner and Dan Cox’s Falcon taking second, leaving third to Voyazides.

Manfredo Rossi di Montelera scooped top honours in the first of the ’70s Celebration races on the short course.

Race two, on the full circuit, wasn’t so kind, though, because his Porsche 935 ran out of fuel on the last lap, gifting victory to Jon Finnemore and Chris Beighton’s thundering Sunbeam Tiger.

Meanwhile, Ben Mitchell won the Ronnie Peterson Trophy for Formula Ford 1600 cars, in his Van Diemen RF87.

The next round of Masters Historic Racing heads to Dijon, France from 14-16 June.

Find out more on the series’ website.